How Cool Is This???

January 18, 2008 at 1:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

China_ban_2  Apparently, in an effort to rid the country of "white pollution", China is placing a ban on non-reusable plastic shopping bags, calling for "a return to cloth bags and shopping baskets to reduce the use of plastic bags". This ban takes effect June 1, 2008. Under the new rules, businesses will be prohibited from manufacturing, selling or using bags less than 0.025 millimeters (0.00098 inches) thick.

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5hE4sINAURdKAmg8poz3YK-yTVW-QD8U2OG600

Can you imagine if this ban happened here? While I love the concept of being able to bring the groceries inside my house without the bag erupting and spilling its contents all over my driveway and often into a snowbank, I wonder at how I would dispose of those smelly diapers that I currently triple-grocery-bag and run out to the garbage cans. I suppose I could come up with an alternative. And I WOULD welcome the thought of no longer driving down a somewhat rural road and seeing a white shopping bag fluttering in the highest branches of tree. Sad to say, even in Maine, the usually scenic roads are at times marred by a very urban site such as that. Kinda makes me say, "hmmmmm".

There is a hilarious link on the site, www.reusablebags.com to a youtube video that shows a looooong line of people waiting in line to purchase a tote with the tagline, "I’m not a plastic bag" on it. It’s two minutes long but the buildup somehow makes it funnier.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXaLdRdMK-M

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

