The House that PUKE built

April 3, 2008 at 2:38 pm | Posted in TODAY | Leave a comment

Have you ever walked into a public restroom just as a large-ish elderly person lumbered out in a wake of air that hits you in the face like a brick wall and you realize (too late) that you should have held your breath BEFORE entering?

Well, THAT smell……that is the fragrance permeating my house at the moment.

I was feeling pretty cruddy the other night when I last posted….I didn’t realize until the following morning that it was due to the fact that I was coming down with the flu. Late that night as hubby and I tip-toed in to check on the girls before bed, we found the littlest in a pool of vomit.

Yes, I said it– V O M I T

The funny thing was, we didn’t notice right away because she was sleeping so peacefully, all snuggly tucked in and snoring softly. So of course, we had to wake her up and strip off all the bedding and put clean jammies on her. Then we had to convince her that it was still night time and she had to go back to sleep. Forty-five minutes later we stumbled off to bed ourselves.

Then, the next morning, bright and early, little one barfed again. So of course, the whole strip-off-the-sheets-and-clothes started again. Except this time a bath was completely unavoidable (did i mention that the smell of vomit was making my already ill stomach want to join in the fun?). While in the bath, I decided that it was time for me to finally cut her hair. I don’t know why I make these kinds of decisions when I have fevers and am vaguely aware that I am not thinking clearly.

517cropped So, now with three or four less inches of hair, Mia looks even MORE like Shirley Temple (as a cute little singing and tap dancing child, not the way she looks now, all old and wrinkled). The wonderful thing about curly hair is that it hides any potential imperfections in haircuts. And she has this giant curl that refuses to hang down anywhere but right down the middle of her forehead. It isn’t really showing well in this photo but when she is feeling better I plan to take more pictures of her little short ‘do’.

So by the next round of puking, it was great because her hair came out unscathed since it was shorter and not available as her catch-all. (if I related to you the things that we have found in her hair, you would lose your lunch right here and now and there has just been enough puking around here already).

So needless to say, a few days later, the puking is still going on a little here and there but seems to be slowing down a bit and more stuff is staying INSIDE where it belongs. I have completely lost count of the times I have changed the sheets in the girls’ room. The washer and dryer have been chugging away almost constantly for the last three days and the pile of regular laundry is sitting there waiting for it’s turn.

So, after this long whine about puke and hair and fevers and headaches (did i forget to mention those?), I will just include an fyi that this is the first time I had the patience to deal with my annoying laptop to get the thing to let me look at my mail. Stupid msn keeps "updating" hotmail and/or their browser and it is causing me more problems than ever. I just didn’t have the energy or interest to look at it before now and it’s going to take me forever to get caught up. So that is my long excuse for why I haven’t returned anyone’s emails.

The End.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

