Be more daring….

January 13, 2009 at 10:57 am | Posted in quotes | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

To dare is to lose one’s footing momentarily.

Not to dare is to lose oneself.

— Soren Kierkegaard

Everytime I sit down to write an article or a blog post or to stare at a blank canvas, I am afraid. Afraid that the ideas may not come, afraid that I will be disappointed in the end result, afraid that I will waste the supplies and wish that I had them to use later….

And yet, if I do not dare….there are no blog posts, no articles written (no $$ !), and bare walls because there are no canvas pieces to fill them….and worse than that, no reflection of who I am inside….the side that no one else will ever see if I do not dare to create. That is truly losing oneself.

(here is a link to the site I write articles for:

http://www.businessideafactory.com/ )

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ahh, Kierkegaard one of my favorites. I prefer the former half of the quote. Doing something outside one’s zone of comfort and to lose one’s footing gives way to lateral thinking. Sondi, you are an artist. The biggest weight of being an artist is finding satisfaction in your creations. To lose one’s footing can mean not just breaking from your patterns toward accomplishment but also embracing different feelings during and after the creative process.
    Whether you are satisfied with the outcome or not, or others positively reflect or are negatively critical, you have given an impetus to inspiration for their thoughts and feelings. It is never a waste. 🙂
    andrea


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

