Make My Bed?

May 4, 2009 at 11:44 pm | Posted in quotes | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,
The first thing I do in the morning is to make my bed and while I am making up my bed I am making up my mind as to what kind of a day I am going to have. -- Robert Frost

I never make my bed. Ever.

Okay, that's not strictly true. When I know that people are for sure coming over and will also likely be coming upstairs, I kinda pull up the comforter up to the headboard and try to make things look sorta presentable. Sheets at least tucked in enough that they aren't hanging out too obviously.But on a regular day, I get out of the bed, stumble around, and kinda bumble through my day.

At night, I think about all the things I should do when I'm not so tired - the next day. Sure, TOMORROW I will clean up that cat puke. I will for sure finish washing ALL the dishes in the sink instead of just the ones we seem to be running out of. Tomorrow I will clean off my desk and find that rubberstamp that I need to start that next art project. Tomorrow, tomorrow.....

If I made my bed, maybe I would accomplish things in my day. Wow, my whole life might change.Is that reason enough to start making my bed? A sane, reasonable person would likely say yes. Yes, sure. Making my bed takes only two minutes. Surely two minutes is a small enough sacrifice for a fulfilled, accomplished life.

But I DON'T make my bed. I WON'T make my bed.Ever.
1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Until I read this quote by Robert Frost I believed him to be a well thought out man. Now I think a tree should have fallen on him…
    Our days have been cut short who has time to make their bed?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

