Thoughts skittering around in my mind…..

July 4, 2009 at 1:24 pm | Posted in Day to Day Musings | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

So here’s the thing….I don’t get this blog (typepad) for free. It costs money. Not a lot. But enough that if I’m not using it, I might as well just be tossing the currency out the window and letting the wind take it away….

Part of me is disheartened that almost no one even checks up on it anymore. That same part misses all the blogs that my email used to alert me about all the time. I can hardly even remember now what they were. About the only use my laptop gets anymore is updating my facebook status and waiting for my friends and family to do the same.

The other part is trying to kick my brain in gear and remind myself that this was supposed to be a cathartic process. A means to push my mind into pondering and stretching it’s muscles and not turning into the proverbial couch potato. When I had my writing job, I would end up updating my blog INSTEAD of doing my job….then it seemed like an escape, a fun activity to avoid work. And now….

Well now it is feeling more like work….as are my various unfinished art projects and neglected sketchbooks. What is wrong with my brain? The longer I am away from my art desk, the more it feels like my other long lost friends. The ones who don’t seek out my company anymore. Whenever I pass them by, I get that sad feeling in the pit of my stomach and I wonder what changed. Why don’t they miss me? Why don’t they seek me out anymore?

So here I am….typing away….enjoying the tippity tappity sounds of the keyboard as the letters and words form on the screen ….and I wonder why I don’t do it more often…

I’m hearing thunder off in the distance and thinking I really should shut down my computer to avoid it getting fried…and the thought that I SHOULDn’t be typing and going on and on …..makes me WANT to do it. It’s almost as if I can only have fun if I’m NOT SUPPOSED TO BE DOING IT. What I am I, seven years old?

Thoughts?

Anyone?

(gee, there’s that echo again….)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I was just thinking about how much I miss our conversations since FaceBook then realized that you may still be updating your blog, I love it. It is much more personal!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

