Less 365

July 27, 2010 at 3:43 pm | Posted in CLEANING, family, recycle | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Could I do it?

I ran across a blog where a man is dedicated to discarding something everyday.

http://www.ydnar.com/2010/07/less-365.html

Actually, what he said was, “Starting July 1, and every day for a year, I will get rid of something. I will donate, discard, re-gift or recycle some bit of debris accumulating in my house. Anything non-perishable considered, exempting books and music.”

In MY house books should definitely be part of the discard. Hundreds of books overflowing bookcases at every turn. Piles of books I intend to read stacked under my bed, in boxes and drawers, occupying every available space in the house! Hoarding runs in my family and all my life I’ve been in love with thrifting and treasure hunting at the local Goodwill store. So I’m sure I cannot avoid those tendencies entirely. I willingly purge every now and again. I even have really organized friends help me purge cupboards and tiny areas of the house. But it seems like every room of the house seems to still have areas that attract clutter like a giant nuclear powered magnet!

I would love to list my treasures and favorite vintage pieces that I’ve found. But then hubby would see it and demand that I return it. Sooo….that is not an option.

But then again, I keep saying that I’m going to start listing some of my extra treasures on my favorite shopping sites, eBay and etsy. For instance, I found a realllly vintage Pinocchio Head Disney Bank. It even has the stopper. I’m not in love with it. I actually bought it with the intention of selling it. I don’t lack for motivation (I need the cash!). But getting started seems like an overwhelming task. Does anyone have any motivation tips that keep things from getting overwhelming?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

