Day 3… and counting

July 30, 2010 at 11:41 am | Posted in addiction, Goodwill, Gymboree, Starbucks, thrifting, treasure hunting | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So here’s the deal. The first step to solving a personal problem (especially when that problem is any form of addiction) is to admit that you have a problem.

So I admit I have a problem.

I love to shop. It doesn’t matter if it is at the grocery store, Goodwill, the dollar store, Marshall’s, or Macy’s (I really don’t like Macy’s). As long as there is treasure to be had, it is an adventure that calls my name like a sweet siren of the sea.

I consider myself a ‘thrifter’ and a bargain hunter. But the sad fact remains, if I find treasure, my pulse races and I get SUCH a gush of serotonin.

I’ve decided not to buy anything for two weeks, as a show of faith to my husband that I’m really going to get this addiction under control and not throw our financial lives under a bus. So this is day three of my two weeks. I will admit that I did buy a single song on itunes yesterday. I stopped at that one song (that I’ve been trying to find the name of for weeks). ITunes tried to tempt me with lots of other cool songs that they recommended to me that yes, I will likely also like. I also wrote down songs from a movie soundtrack that I watched, but I put the list away for another day instead of bringing up iTunes and immediately downloading them.

I also resisted the temptation of using my own personal SPECIAL discount at Gymboree if I hustle on down there by Sunday and buy more school clothes at a huge discount off of even sale merchandise prices. (I love how rugged their clothes are and my daughter loves how everything matches everything else.) I have resisted buying more on Sephora even though they are currently running a special on my favorite mascara. I resisted the fabulous items found on etsy while researching a price and potential history of an item that I currently own and am thinking of selling. I also resisted purchasing more neat vintage stuff when researching “Mid Century Modern” on eBay. There is just so much treasure to be had everywhere I turn! And don’t even get me started on the special deal that Starbucks is running. If you buy VIA in a 48 pack on their website, it is only 34$! That is an excellent bargain!

So far, with exception to these online bargains that I am turning away from, I haven’t felt too deprived so far because past purchases have still been arriving in the mail over the past couple of days. My last Sephora purchase came an hour ago. The sound of the UPS truck engine slowing down in front of my house is music to my ears! It means that there will be a present arriving for me at any moment! It gets my pulse racing every time I hear it….even when I’m not at home. How sad is that?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

