First Day Of School

September 4, 2012 at 8:53 am | Posted in Day to Day Musings, family, parenting, SCHOOL, TODAY | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

image

When I was a kid, it hurt my feelings so much when my mom would mention that she couldn’t WAIT for us to be back in school. Now that I’m grown with kids of my own, I have no idea how she survived those summers with her sanity intact.

While seeing the bus drive away with my babies inside makes me sad and a little anxious, the sense of relief that washes over me as I step back inside my quiet house is wonderful. I have my freedom back! If I want, I can watch a whole tv show without pausing for nine “emergencies”. I could go shopping without anyone whining and wanting explanations for why they can’t have everything they see or complaining about the radio station or commenting on my driving. Sweet silence!

Maybe I will just celebrate the first day of school with a quiet cup of coffee…. and a nap. Yeah, a nice quiet nap.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

